Formating your hard drive does not delete your data.
Simply erasing all the data on your hard drive and formatting it is not enough to keep your data secure.
You can spend hours going through your hard drive and deleting all the files and documents you want, but using the delete key on your keyboard in Windows will only remove the shortcuts to the files making them invisible to users.
Deleted files still reside on the hard drive and a quick Google search will show many options for system recovery software will allow anyone to reinstate that data.
Now you can format the drive. Formatting the hard drive is a bit more secure than simply erasing the files. Formatting a disk does not erase the data on the disk, only the address tables. It makes it much more difficult to recover the files. However a computer specialist would be able to recover most or all the data that was on the disk before the reformat.
Even more secure than reformatting is a process called disk wiping (or disk scrubbing). The term disk wiping is not only used in reference to hard drives but any storage device such as CDs, RAIDs, flash drives and other storage devices.
Disk wiping is a secure method of ensuring that data, including company and individually licensed software on your computer and storage devices is irrecoverably deleted before recycling or donating the equipment. Because previously stored data can be brought back with the right software and applications, the disk wiping process will actually overwrite your entire hard drive with data, several times.
Once you format you'll find it all but impossible to retrieve the data which was on the drive before the overwrite.
If you have a drive with deleted or formated files, that you want back, give us a call.
The techs at RescueTECH are experienced at recovering deleted and formatted drives for both PC (Windows) and Mac.